Site Search
Sign In
Sign In securely
Latest News
About MISA - Peter Bennett Awards


The Peter Bennett Award is the highest award in the Canadian municipal IT community. MISA/ASIM Canada created it in 2005, shortly after the sudden death of the greatly respected municipal IT leader from Winnipeg for whom it is named.

Peter was the manager of information systems for the City of Winnipeg and the founding president of MISA Prairies. He was instrumental in the formation of MISA/ASIM Canada, applying his boundless energy and considerable personal gifts to conducting the diplomacy and formulating the ideas that led to the signing of a Memorandum of Understanding among representatives of five regional associations in 2005. This led to the formal launch of MISA/ASIM Canada the next year.

The Peter Bennett Award trophy has been presented annually to an individual (or individuals) who has made an outstanding contribution to the Canadian municipal IT community and to the MISA/ASIM Canada mission and objectives, while exemplifying Bennett’s spirit of demonstrated leadership and working "beyond the call” with humour and humanity.

Peter Bennett Award recipients to date are: Peter Bennett (honoured posthumously 2006), Debbie Barrett (2006), Per Kristensen (2007), Roy Wiseman (2008), Gerry Matte (2009), Harry Turnbull (2010), Gaston Huot (2011), Alan Mitchell and Skip Lumley on behalf of the team that completed the Municipal Reference Model Version 2 Project (2012), Garry Bezruki (2013), Maurice Gallant (2014), and Kathryn Bulko (2015).

Nomination Process

Nominations must include the name, position, and contact information of the person making the nomination as well as a minimum of two (2) other people who support the nomination. The nomination process will include a summary, no more than two (2) pages in length, and should include documentation of the achievements of the nominated IT leader and her/his contribution to the municipal IT community.

Nominations must be forwarded electronically in confidence to Chair, Nominating Committee, MISA/ASIM Canada by May 3, 2016. E-mail:   Include‘2016 Peter Bennett Award’ in the subject line of your email.

The Selection Panel will be the Board of Directors of MISA/ASIM Canada or a Committee designated by the Board. The 2016 Peter Bennett Award recipient will be announced at the 2016 MISA/ASIM Canada MCIO Summit in Blue Mountains, Ontario, June 8-10.


Nomination form

Peter Bennett Award Recipients

Item Name Posted By Date Posted
2014 - Maurice Gallant PDF (105.94 KB) Administration 2014-06-27
2013 - Garry Bezruki PDF (174.43 KB) Administration 2014-06-27
2012 - Alan Mitchell and Skip Lumley PDF (92.4 KB) Administration 2014-06-27
2011 - Gaston Huot PDF (107.09 KB) Administration 2014-06-27
2010 - Harry Turnbull PDF (97.68 KB) Administration 2012-12-11
2009 - Gerry Matte PDF (118.85 KB) Administration 2012-12-11
2008 - Roy Wiseman PDF (105.3 KB) Administration 2012-12-11
2007 - Per Kristensen PDF (122.49 KB) Administration 2012-12-11
2006 - Debbie Barrett PDF (99.76 KB) Administration 2012-12-11