News: Ontario News

Three Ontario Municipalities Receive Top Honours for Energy Conservation

December 13, 2012   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Alison Hermansen
Share |

East Gwillimbury, Hamilton, and Markham are top winners in province-wide conservation awards

Toronto, December 6, 2012 --Today, the Town of East Gwillimbury, City of Hamilton and City of Markham received a Community Conservation Award, a new award that recognizes Ontario municipalities for their commitment to energy-saving initiatives, community energy planning, and strong conservation leadership.

A collaborative effort led by the Ontario Power Authority (OPA) with the Association of Municipalities of Ontario (AMO) and the Electricity Distributors Association (EDA), the Community Conservation Awards are given to communities that demonstrate strong achievement in the following areas:

  • Conservation leadership
  • Innovation and market transformation
  • Corporate/internal and community engagement
  • Conservation achievements
Nine finalists, separated into three population categories, were selected by a judging panel comprised of OPA conservation specialists as well as five external judges who are experts in the municipal conservation field. The three winners received their awards at today’s Local Authority Services Symposium, organized by AMO.

"Congratulations to the finalists in this year’s Community Conservation Awards,” said AMO Local Authority Services Ltd. (LAS) Chair, Gary McNamara. "AMO firmly supports our collective efforts to build a culture of conservation in Ontario. Municipalities are local leaders committed to reducing costs and doing our part to fight climate change. Conservation is a straightforward, common sense approach to help reach those goals.”

"Today’s awards showcase the leadership municipalities are demonstrating by promoting, supporting and implementing energy-efficiency initiatives in their communities,” said OPA VP of Conservation, Andrew Pride. "Ontario’s saveONenergy programs enable all Ontarians to engage in energy conservation and help us succeed in meeting our province-wide conservation goals.”

"Ontario’s local distribution companies (LDCs) are proud to play a lead role in helping Ontario communities and families find ways to manage their electricity use,” said Charlie Macaluso, President and Chief Executive Officer of the EDA. "The award winners set a powerful example of how partnerships between municipalities and LDCs at the local level have led to innovative initiatives that have successfully engaged residents and businesses in conservation – with excellent results.”

The awards are open to all municipalities in Ontario. Participating municipalities in this year’s awards were required to provide a written submission that outlined their conservation efforts, as well as two recent case studies highlighting specific conservation initiatives.

More information about the Community Conservation Awards can be

Ontario’s saveONenergy energy conservation programs can be found
For further information or to request an interview:
Tim Butters
Ontario Power Authority