MISA - BC Award Winners

MISA BC Award Winners

Associate Partner of the Year - Lite Access Technologies

MISA BC President presents Associate Partner Award

MISA BC President Darin Young presents the Associate Partner Award to Scott Grant of Lite Access Technologies.

For a complete description of the award, click here

The 2019 Associate Partner Award is presented to Lite Access Technologies.

Recognized as an industry leader in fibre optics, Lite Access provides full service fibre optic infrastructure solutions including construction, splicing and testing, project management, maintenance, and service and repair.

Lite Access began as a small Vancouver-based company using innovative microduct technologies that largely made outside plant fibre optics construction accessible, affordable, and reliable for widespread use by local governments.

Today, as a public company with international operations, Lite Access still remains a trusted partner for many local governments in British Columbia. The company has been a long-time sponsor of MISA BC and continues to support other public sector organisations, including the provincial Communications Infrastructure Committee (CICBC).

Kelly Blunden Spirit of Service Award - Rob Entwistle, City of Kelowna

MISA BC President presents Spirit of Service Award

MISA BC President Darin Young presents the Spirit of Service Award to Rob Entwistle (Brian Abrey accepting on his behalf) with Past President Barbara Davey, Membership Chair Alisha Mass and Sponsorship Director, Jessie Chudiak

For a complete description of the award, click here

The 2019 Kelly Blunden Spirit of Service award is presented to Rob Entwistle of the City of Kelowna.

In addition to his role as CIO, Rob’salso been a strong supporter and participant in many MISA activities, including:

  • Serving on the MISA BC board in a variety of roles, currently as Director at Large (Membership Development)
  • Representing MISA BC and Western Canada on the Public Sector CIO Council
  • Organizing and hosting the MISA BC 2014 Fall Conference in Kelowna.

MISA BC is only one in a long list of associations and clubs that Rob has supported and shaped over the years.

Rob, his wife Diane, and their three kids are avid skiers, and so it’s no surprise that Rob spent many years on the ski patrol team training skiers. As his kids became more involved in ski racing, Rob became involved in the Big White Racers as the alpine chair, and organized ski races throughout the province. He served as a member of the BC Alpine Ski Association Board of Directors for several years, and he even became a level 3 official to help train ski-racing officials in the sport. Rob participated in the 2010 Olympics in Whistler as a volunteer on the race course, and, to this day, he remains a valued mentor to the Okanagan ski team.

With their children in soccer, Rob also became president of the Kelowna Youth Soccer Association and a board member of the Central Okanagan Youth Soccer Association, providing years of support and guidance to help shape these soccer associations into what they are today.

Rob has been an important coach, mentor, and leader to Kelowna’s sports enthusiasts.

Spirit of Innovation Award - City of Nanaimo

MISA BC President presents Spirit of Innovation Award

MISA BC President Darin Young presents the Spirit of Innovation Award to Jeff Jacob of the City of Nanaimo

For a complete description of the award, click here

The 2019 Spirit of Innovation Award goes to the City of Nanaimo for its locally designed CityProjects software. CityProjects is a custom project management software system that will help teams manage City-funded projects. Taking cues from modern web technology, the software allows staff in Finance, Engineering and other departments to plan, resource, track and report on projects ranging from pedestrian flasher upgrades and facilities improvements, to million-dollar projects like the Bastion Bridge upgrade.

Previous Award Winners

Associate Partner of the Year

Kelly Blunden Spirit of Service Award

Spirit of Innovation Award

  • 2018 City of Kelowna
  • 2017 City of Delta
  • 2016 City of Trail
  • 2015 City of Nanaimo
  • 2014 Township of Langley
  • 2013 City of Nanaimo
  • 2012 City of Langley
  • 2011 City of Victoria
  • 2010 City of Edmonton
  • 2009 City of Airdrie
  • 2008 City of Airdrie
  • 2007 City of Nanaimo
  • 2006 City of Kamloops
  • 2005 Regional District of Comox Strathcona
  • 2004 District of North Vancouver
  • 2003 City of Kelowna
  • 2002 City of Nanaimo
  • 2001 City of Kamloops
  • 2000 City of Vancouver
  • 1999 City of Kamloops
  • 1998 City of Vancouver